New player - from abroad

• DennisS
  • Thank Yous: 26
28 Mar 2016 19:58 - 28 Mar 2016 20:08 #1 by DennisS (DRSNova)
New player - from abroad was created by DennisS (DRSNova)
Hello!

I've been LARPing for 12 years now, mostly in Germany (where I'm from), where I've also helped to organize LARP events for a few years now (plot writer and prop/costume construction).

I will visit the US from end of June until mid-July. Since I'm always interested in experiencing how LARPing is done in different countries, I plan on combining some of the touristy things with participating in two LARPs in New York state (as it might be against forum rules, I won't reveal the other one for now). And I would love one of them to be your June 24th event, if possible.

Well, my first question(s) would obviously be: Is it any problem for a foreign player to join - and join for one event only? I'm perfectly fluent in English, of course, so communication would not be an issue.

Apart from that, mainly some logistical problems. While I own plenty of gear, getting more than the bare basics on a plane (for 2 LARPs and travelling the country for a while) will be challenging, to say the least, even if I buy some stuff in the US (sleeping bag, blankets, etc., and food of course). But this can be figured out, I believe. Still, any help with the "larger items" (say, a spare cot) would of course be very much appreciated.

One other thing: I believe the rules (which for now i have just skimmed over) suggest something like 13th century dress being appropriate- but judging by the photos, I assume anything, say, pre-18th-century would be fine? I would go for something simple (=12- or 13something) anyway, but i though i might just ask to be safe.