New player(s) with some questions

12 Jul 2019 12:00 #1 by Maxwell Samuels (hunter62610)
New player(s) with some questions was created by Maxwell Samuels (hunter62610)
(Maxwell Samuels)

Hello, a freind and I are considering attending your next event. I've personally only attended a single 7th kingdom game as an NPC, and this would be her first time.

Tldr is I'm a fairly experienced "maker" who can make pro quality boffer arrows, and would like the chance to present my work for approval. The following paragraph is just my research to show I'm doing my homework.

In reading your forum posts I notice that you have a policy on boffer arrows that they can't be made at home. While I agree most of the shoddy duct tape and pennies arrow design made at home don't seem safe, I am certain I could make arrows that meet or exceed the quality of calamacil boffer arrows, to a level that you would probably think they are proffesional if I didn't tell you. I am an engineering student and have access to a 3D printer as well as an entire machine shop. Making stuff for fun is my hobby.
Calamacil boffer arrows, like most pro brands seem to be wood shafted with custom plastic tips, with multiple stages of foam, namely a thin Eva tip for even compression, an open cell layer for padding, a closed/dense foam layer for protection and structure, and then some form of rear cover. All of this is glued together with rubber contact cement (I think, unfortunately we can't see the glue). We also can't see there plastic tips, but the tear down diagram clearly shows the design as a flared cap. I would 3D print this internal tip, but I could injection mold it in time, though it wouldn't change much. The circular shape of the heads is likely acheived by sandwiching and gluing the first 3 layers together and using a large hole saw. The last layer is made separately and added after the top 3 glued on.