I'm new and nervous

• illyria
  • Thank Yous: 0
23 Sep 2009 00:28 #1 by illyria (illyria)
I'm new and nervous was created by illyria (illyria)
Hi everyone, I'm going to be coming to the September event with my boyfriend and I am really nervous about not knowing what I am doing.  Does anyone have any advice or anything cause i'm almost shaking in my boots about trying this out.  I'll be NPC-ing the whole weekend, but am terrified of messing up somehow.

IG:TBD
OOGGina M.

OOG - Gina M

"Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind"
  • BalindorIN
  • Thank Yous: 13
23 Sep 2009 04:06 #2 by BalindorIN (BalindorIN)
Replied by BalindorIN (BalindorIN) on topic I'm new and nervous
  This will be my first KR event as well, and I will also be an NPC all weekend.  However I have been larping out here in Indiana for almost 7 years now, and over the years  I have learned a few things about getting people to relax when they join us.

First, just relax and enjoy the setting and game itself. No one is going to be talking like a Shakespearean actor; few people can even remember the proper use of thee or thou. No one is going to laugh at you because you don't know how to fight; everyone in this hobby started out as a beginner at one time or another.

When you get right down to it, we are all just a bunch of grown up geeks running around in the woods, chasing other grown up geeks and hitting them with plumbing supplies. Which means no one is going to giggle at you behind your back...unless you happen to do something funny; then all bets are off. ;)

Pelinderian,

OOG: Jeff Mininger
23 Sep 2009 05:49 #3 by Woolsey Bysmor (Osred)
Replied by Woolsey Bysmor (Osred) on topic I'm new and nervous
Have a warm sleeping bag, and warm black clothes.

-OOG Michael Smith
  • Misaki
  • Dark Sith? Where?!
  • Thank Yous: 23
23 Sep 2009 07:14 #4 by Misaki (cbodnar)
Replied by Misaki (cbodnar) on topic I'm new and nervous
Welcome!