Introduction and Character Questions

• Molydeus
  • Thank Yous: 0
08 Jun 2010 22:41 #1 by Molydeus (Molydeus)
Introduction and Character Questions was created by Molydeus (Molydeus)
Hello there Knight Realms!

My name is Kevin, and I'm interested in experiencing your game this summer.  I live in Saratoga Springs (its just north of Albany), I'm a recently graduated college student, and I have been doing a variety of different types of LARPing for a few years now.  My friends Mary and Nadi both encouraged me to try this game out, and I'm excited to meet you all. 

I have a couple of specific questions regarding a character concept I have that, despite my best efforts, I could not find answers to in the Online Rulebook. I apologize if they were in fact answered there.

1. I see that this game has an established nobility, especially within the Barony where this game takes place.  I know that I can not come in with a new character that is a member of the local social structure, but would it be allowed to be a noble from another country?  I was thinking of a Dwarven noble from the Kingdom of Calasvorin.

2. I have a latex sword that is painted gold.  I read that gold is a rare alloy that is a special damage type. I also have brass-plated chainmail that looks gold.  Would I be allowed to have an armor and weapon that appeared gold, but did not have the special in-game properties of gold?  Or, is it possible to somehow start with items of that property at character creation and sacrifice whatever coin I might come into game with, or even be in debt somehow?  I'm not expecting a yes on that last one, just throwing the idea out there if its possible.

3. How flexible is the world when writing a character history? If I wanted to say I came from somewhere in Calavorin, would I have to pick one of the locations on that map, or could I, within reason, come up with a new location within that kingdom?