Books & other such paperweights

• Goggs
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
  • Thank Yous: 226
30 Nov 2012 03:49 #1 by Goggs (coryan)
Books & other such paperweights was created by Goggs (coryan)
Hello!

I'm hoping to play a scholar next month, but wanted to get some clarification on how tomes work before diving in.

So let's say I'm a scholar. I've spent some build on Literacy, Advanced Literacy and Research, so I can read things. I've somehow managed to get my hands on a tome which is concerned with some arbitrary skill (let's say that it's Advanced First Aid from the trauma branch of physician skills.)

If I have enough build, can I now learn Advanced First Aid from that tome? Or is this only possible if I am also a physician?

- Coryan

- A. C. Goggins
Quartermaster

OOG: Cory W-S
"If you can dodge a wrench, you can dodge a Maul."
  • Aemorniel
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
  • In Truth, all things are Bound.
  • Thank Yous: 108
30 Nov 2012 07:06 - 30 Nov 2012 08:38 #2 by Aemorniel (Aemorniel)
Replied by Aemorniel (Aemorniel) on topic Books & other such paperweights
From a Tome, if you wish to learn that skill, you must have a list that makes it able to learn that skill. In your scenario--yes you would have to be a physician. If you have any more scholarly questions, do not hesitate to ask. I have been playing one for over a year so I could give some pointers or explain things if you like.

The only Tome you have to worry about currently as a scholar is the Tome of Education in the library. It is a Scholar's Tome. It has every skill, Tradition, etc that a scholar can have except for the weapon skills and Waylay. The usual purpose of a Tome is to provide a teacher for when no teacher is around. I used the Tome of Education myself for a majority of my education but I recommend that it's a lot more fun to learn from one of the various other scholars about the skills because they can give you personal insight and recommendations from their experience.