Greetings from a new player! Maria/Mordrog

15 Apr 2013 17:48 - 18 Jul 2014 16:01 #1 by Mordra GraLucia (Mordra)
Greetings from a new player! Maria/Mordrog was created by Mordra GraLucia (Mordra)
Greetings to all!

I’m very excited for the chance to come and LARP and meet you all! I was recommended to Knight Realms by Garrett. My name is Maria and I’ll be coming up from Baltimore for the May event as a first time player. I’ve done weekend LARP events at conventions before but I was always picking a character from a pool and was never in an epic fantasy setting. I’m also new to this system of combat as all my past events have been dice rolling or RPS. I’m thinking of sitting out of the combat for a little bit till I get my character more grounded but I’m looking forward to learning to use the bow and arrow as I have some experience with it.

The one thing I’m not at all experienced with is camping or any sort of outdoors bond with nature. I was trying to find some more information on sleeping conditions, such as should I bring my own sleeping bag/food/cooler. I also don’t know if I need to rent out an area personally or as long as I’m registered with the event I should have a floor to sleep on. I also saw that showers were limited to the main house. I’m a city slicker that has no problem getting dirty… as long as I can shower off later!

I’m still working out my character and costume. Do people have any recommendations for types of fabrics for comfort as well as movement? I’m planning to make a simple cape (of course! What’s the point if I can’t wear a cape!) and some light trousers and shirt. If I get ambitious I might make a leather chest piece with armor and some character detail.

I also saw that there is a 9am New players training in the Barn. Is that each day of the weekend or only on Friday? I was thinking of skipping out of Friday normally because of work but I would gladly take a day off for my first event weekend. I’ll make a vacation out of it!