Potential New Player with questions

12 May 2013 08:34 #1 by Gunnar Gunnarson (jhines0042)
Potential New Player with questions was created by Gunnar Gunnarson (jhines0042)

dbdgamer wrote: Hey guys, I'm new to the site and LARP in general(but I've been RP'ing for alot of years online). I've been looking for a LARP for awhile initially I was searching for something Star Wars themed but when I couldn't find anything I found you guys instead and I have to admit I am very impressed with your site and already have a few concepts floating around in my head.

Welcome!

1. Do you need a costume to start NPC'ing? I'd really like to get started as soon as possible but for me to make a costume it would probably take a few months, I'm typically very slow when it comes to costuming. I also don't want to make two costumes for an NPC and my PC in order to save on money, I'm just a poor college student.

For NPC duty all you need is to wear mostly black clothing, or plain clothing. Your monster marshal will tell you what costuming to put on when it is time and there is a selection of NPC garb and makeup to put on. So don't worry about an NPC costume, just make sure you have that black clothing to wear under it.

2. How easy is it to pick up on everything? I've read most of the rules, but 300 pages is quite a bit overwhelming the expression comes to mind "Like trying to take a sip of water from a fire hose" Basicly how tolerant of you of noobs who are trying to learn but arent quite there right away?

It is a bit hard to pick up on "Everything" but that basics are easy. This will be covered by the new player marshals, but at any time, if you don't understand anything, put your hand on your head (our symbol for going Out Of Game) and say "Clarify?" and the action will stop near you and someone will explain. I have found KR to be very very tolerant of this. Do NOT worry about it, you'll be fine. (I've been here a year and I still call it from time to time)