Combat and the NPC experience

• Faila
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
  • Thank Yous: 173
09 Jun 2013 20:22 - 09 Jun 2013 20:23 #1 by Faila (Faila)
Combat and the NPC experience was created by Faila (Faila)
Greetings everyone.

I have been thinking about this quite a bit since the May event, and maybe it belongs in a different category, but I am posting it in New Players since perhaps it is a pretty obvious question for experienced players.

So, here we go:

I really enjoy NPC duty and have discovered that I really like fighting (I never would have guessed!) despite the fact I am not very good at it. I have also found that I learn a ton about combat when I get to play a NPC with skills that far exceed what my PC has (or will have in the near future). I also completely understand and respect the idea that NPC's are there to entertain the PCs.

However, I have found in a number of NPC roles, that NPCs that seem powerful (at least to me) get slaughtered really quickly. For example, in May, an NPC I played had 500 BP and some really nice melee offenses/defenses (I liked the one that caused anyone who hit the NPC to suffer daze for 5 seconds). My poor NPC, however, got attacked about 6:1 and ended up dead within about 2 minutes (probably less - 30 seconds - it is hard to tell time while fighting). Even taking into account that I am a pretty crummy fighter at this stage (it is only my 3rd event, so what can I say. . . ), my question is, how do more experienced players make sure they entertain the PCs enough, and what is the line. I don't want to completely ignore my NPC card, but on the other hand, my NPC is not too entertaining when dead within only a few seconds (I know as a PC I want to fight something that is at least somewhat threatening).

So, how do you make sure your NPCs strike the proper balance between threatening and entertaining? Or do you just follow you card and leave it up to the MM and ST?

I look forward to your insights.

Crystal