costuming question for ladies!

03 Jul 2013 11:42 #1 by Akira Saralonde (katemariexo)
costuming question for ladies! was created by Akira Saralonde (katemariexo)
I'm new to the boards and I'm not sure if this is where I'd post something of this nature (so please let me know if this goes somewhere else!)
But I'm new to KR and larping in general, and I have no idea where to get an under corset for a good price. I'm looking for something simple. Green or brown preferably. I've checked medieval collectables, larpexchange and pearsons but they were a bit too pricey (near $200+ for ones I liked.)

Any suggestions? :)

Akira Saralonde
Treasurer of Ostcliff
OOG: Kaitlyn Bober
  • Elawyn
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thank Yous: 177
03 Jul 2013 12:22 - 03 Jul 2013 12:24 #2 by Elawyn (Elawyn)
Replied by Elawyn (Elawyn) on topic costuming question for ladies!
It honestly depends what you looking for. You can find cheap "bodices" without any boning or structure for as low as $40 online, but if you want something with decent metal boning and that will last you, expect to pay $100 and usually much more depending on quality. I don't want to get too personal on a public forum, but I can say from experience that if you are at all a little large on top, you'll want to avoid any cheap plastic-boned underbusts, as they will not support you and will quickly fold and break.

It sounds like you want an underbust corset, which changes your options slightly. Etsy is a great place to look online, as a lot of independant sellers have items there. Many people love Damsel in this Dress (she has a website and is on Artfire and Etsy), but I find their fit can be hit or miss depending on the style and the bodytype. Are you looking for brocade, soft leather, hard leather, or cotton? All of these would prompt me to suggest different places to look. You can also peruse the Web Links link to the left for some ideas well: www.knightrealms.com/web-links.html