YOU AND THE WEATHER (IMPORTANT)

• Grashügel
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
  • Safety Marshal
  • Thank Yous: 241
30 Sep 2016 11:40 - 30 Sep 2016 11:46 #1 by Grashügel (HAZMAT221)
YOU AND THE WEATHER (IMPORTANT) was created by Grashügel (HAZMAT221)
Hello all, my name is Taylor for those of you that do not know me; I am relatively new to KR but love it nonetheless! Under the approval of John Tinney, I am here to talk this month’s event and the weather.

My experiences with Fire/EMS and the nature of my education in Vermont have taught me many things regarding how to properly dress for cold/poor weather scenarios and I would like to share some of that wisdom now. While these suggestions are not mandatory they could help to ensure the enjoyment of this event and most importantly ensure your well being.

The Forecasted temperature for this weekend is in the 50’s and 60’s. Under normal circumstance this would not present a large problem. However, we will be playing in the WET. It is forecasted to rain all weekend and this presents a variety of problems. While many are obvious, the average person does not think about cold weather injuries at the start of Fall. Winter is coming…. but, it is not here yet and that sometimes leads to people letting their guard down to the advances of nature.

It is indeed POSSIBLE to have hypothermia in 50 degree weather when you are wet. This poses a threat to anyone and anything that does not take care of themselves in such conditions. That being said, I want to provide several suggestions on how to properly dress for these conditions.