Possible future newbie here!

• Cirydae
  • Thank Yous: 0
21 May 2014 15:20 #1 by Cirydae (Cirydae)
Possible future newbie here! was created by Cirydae (Cirydae)
Hello hello! I'm Grace, and I'm looking at (eventually) attending a LARP here in the future, assuming I get the time off of work/school. I've been obsessing over the rules and pictures and everything on this site for a few weeks now so I figured I should say hi. ^.^ I'm currently looking at making a costume, finishing off my character idea, and attending sometime this summer. I'm super pumped.
I have a few question, though! First, I'm planning on starting as a gypsy because of several reasons, but would greatly prefer not to use the term gypsy. It's generally accepted to be a racial slur and I would just...prefer not to identify my character with it? I love the description of what they do/what they are and I'd love to be one, but I just don't want to use that term. Any ideas? I know I'm acting super cautious about this, but I'd just prefer not to use it. >.<
Also, how do I volunteer for kitchen/feast work? I love cooking and would like to be useful, even if all I do is scrub pots and peel potatoes. I'd feel bad letting other people do all the work in the kitchen. Do I just...show up at the kitchen, or do I have to sort it out before hand?
I'm also still designing a costume so some feedback on that might be helpful. Right now it's all in the design stage because I'm working on like five other costumes and getting ready for work and everything, but I'd like to start making it soon so I am ready.
That's all my questions for now. ^.^ It's nice to meet all of you, and I hope I can attend a game in the future!

--Grace
  • Caelvan
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Blights will taste my sword. Those who corrupt Arawyn will pay with their lives
  • Thank Yous: 487
21 May 2014 16:03 #2 by Caelvan (Caelvan)
Replied by Caelvan (Caelvan) on topic Re:Possible future newbie here!