New player on creating weapons

01 Apr 2015 15:01 - 01 Apr 2015 15:05 #1 by Michael Toth (toth9050)
New player on creating weapons was created by Michael Toth (toth9050)
Hi, i'm fairly new to LARP and a few friends and I are planing on attending the may event, and I am planing on making the weapons. So I was wondering how many layers of pipe insulation should be used to make a good looking long sword while also keeping it safe.
--Michael T.
Last edit: 01 Apr 2015 15:05 by Michael Toth (toth9050).
01 Apr 2015 15:17 - 01 Apr 2015 15:18 #2 by Kanas Whisperwood Silverfang (midgetelf)
Replied by Kanas Whisperwood Silverfang (midgetelf) on topic New player on creating weapons
Hi Michael,

For a good boffer longsword you want at at least 5/8" thickness of foam on all striking surfaces. Here's a link for proper boffer construction on the website: www.knightrealms.com/game-play/weapons-a...-boffer-weapons.html The foam you can easily pick up from a home depot or a Lowes.

Kanas Silverfang

OOG: Jeremy Schwartz
Last edit: 01 Apr 2015 15:18 by Kanas Whisperwood Silverfang (midgetelf).
The following user(s) said Thank You: Rowan Uidhir (Teresa), Nalick (NalickDeMarche)
  • Croínamara
  • Elite Member
  • Elite Member
  • Sock Marshal
  • Thank Yous: 467
01 Apr 2015 16:18 #3 by Croínamara (Jen)
Replied by Croínamara (Jen) on topic New player on creating weapons
*NOT A RULES MARSHAL... BUT*

Know that all weapons - boffer, latex, or otherwise - must be inspected at sign it to make sure they are combat safe!

A good way to test at home; hand the completed boffer to someone and ask them to hit you. *ALWAYS* have it tested on yourself, that way you know exactly how hard it hits. If you wouldn't want to be hit with your own sword, then no body else will either.